What is the AVE?

Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) – is an automated system that determines the eligibility of visitors to travel to Canada. Only travellers from countries exempt from visa requirements for Canada – such as France, Switzerland and Belgium – and legal permanent residents of the United States (green card holders) are eligible to receive the program. Please note that you must travel by air to apply for Ave – Travellers from visa-exempt countries and permanent residents of the United States arriving by land or sea are not required to apply for Ave.

Travel Canada’s authorization electronic agency is not affiliated with the Government of Canada or the Department of Citizenship and Immigration Canada or any other department of the Government of Canada or an organization. It is a commercial site providing passenger assistance for the processing of electronic travel authorization documents to enter Canada. We charge $57USD per application. The official government of Canada website is http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/visit/eta.asp and costs $7 CDN for each application.

Do I need a visa for Canada?

All travellers from visa-exempt countries and legal permanent residents of the United States need the AVE approval to fly to Canada. The AVE system allows you to apply online and receive authorization. The AVE system is a program of the Canadian government administered by citizenship and Immigration Canada and its purpose is to carry out the control of passengers before allowing their right of entry into Canada.

The new AVE entry requirement will be effective March 15, 2016, which will be subject to foreign nationals who do not require a visa to visit Canada and permanent residents of the United States. International travellers are now required to obtain an electronic travel authorization before they travel to Canada. Travellers from visa-exempt countries and permanent residents of the United States will be able to request an AVE from August 1, 2015, although the program will not be mandatory until March 15, 2016.

The AVE application process is only online and citizenship and Immigration Canada manages the system. Approved applications are valid for a period of five years or until the passport expires, whichever comes first.

* ETA – not to be confused with the American ESTA

The following countries require an eTA to enter Canada

  • Andorra
  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • British citizens
  • Citizens of the British Territories Overseas
  • Brunei
  • Chile
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech republic
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Swiss
  • Permanent Resident of the United States

We provide a comprehensive service that includes


Custom step-by-step support for preparing your eTA application in full compliance.


Email notifications and updates of all regulatory changes.


Application prepared by a professional agent.


24-hour assistance in case of emergency.

Appointment possible

In the event that your eTA request is declined, we can schedule an appointment at the nearest Canadian visa processing center.

Online help

Access to online help through our fast and easy service.